Skip to content ↓

Local School Council (Governing Body)

Hope Council, Sidcup

We have recently converted from a Single Academy Trust (SAT) to a Multi-Academy Trust (MAT).  

As a MAT, there are now essentially two elements to the governance of New Generation Schools Trust (NGST) schools - local governance that is delivered on behalf of the Trust via the Hope Councils and Trust-wide governance, delivered via the board of Trustees and the Executive Team, employed on their behalf.

Hope Councils exist to challenge and support the school in delivering the vision of the Trust and to ensure each school has a distinct local identity that is relevant to and reflective of the community they serve.

Hope Councils play a vital role in ensuring that each school is true to the Trust-wide vision and unique in its local expression. We expect Council Members to commit themselves to providing support to our schools in our drive to raise standards and deliver an excellent education to all, which embodies the values of adventure, openness, creativity and excellence underpinned by a Christian ethos.  

Trust-wide governance exists to ensure that all NGST schools share the same DNA and operate in a similar way across the family of schools.  Please see here for more information about Trust wide governance.

The Council Members at Hope Community School, Sidcup are:

            •           Gordon Raggett – Chair

            •           Babara O'Hara  - Acting Principal

            •           Thomas Gallagher

            •           Matthew Green

            •           Lynn Mason

            •           Andy McGee

            •           Mel Foreman – Parent Council Member

            •           Harpreet Panesar - Parent Council Member

            •           Paula Weston

            •           Ashu Chibber - Staff Member

Governors up to 19 April 2016

Name Term of Office Category of Governor Direct Interest Indirect Interest


2015/16 for Governing Body meetings

Responsibility Voting Rights Date Form Completed Date of Declared Changes


Mr. Terry Millar


21/10/14 to 19/04/2016 Governor None None 4/11   Yes 20/10/15 19/4/16


Mrs. Joanna Gallagher


01/09/13 to 19/04/2016 Governor None Spouse – Mr. Tom Gallagher also a Governor 7/11 SEN Yes 20/10/15 19/4/16